Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > SouthEast Region-Reef Club Forums > Southwest Virginia Reef Club

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01/04/2008, 01:57 PM
turbois300 turbois300 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roanoke, Va
Posts: 130
Ato

Ok. I need some ideas for a cheap ATO system. I've got a small powerhead to be the pump and a canister to put the top off water in. I just need to work out the mechanics of the water level detector thingy. I know there are float switches and all that. I'm just not sure about how to incorporate them into my setup. Its only the level in the sump that fluctuates not in the display. I have a 10 gal sump/fuge/skimmer all in one with minima dividers....

I know I'm going to fix the sump setup soon too but that is easy.
__________________
What? No. We can't stop here. This is bat country. - Raoul Duke
  #2  
Old 01/04/2008, 02:42 PM
J. Montgomery J. Montgomery is offline
Mouth Pipetting
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 2,147
I got my ATO float switches from autotopoff.com
__________________
Josh
  #3  
Old 01/04/2008, 03:14 PM
turbois300 turbois300 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roanoke, Va
Posts: 130
Thanks mang! You always have the info!!! I'll check them out. Do you have any pix of your ATO setup. Mainly how you have those switches wired and afixed to the tank/sump/wherever?
__________________
What? No. We can't stop here. This is bat country. - Raoul Duke
  #4  
Old 01/04/2008, 04:27 PM
J. Montgomery J. Montgomery is offline
Mouth Pipetting
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 2,147
You can see the two float valves underneath the fans in this picture. I don't have a sump, so they sit in the display tank. If you look in those full tank shots I posted yesterday, you can see them in the upper right corner of the tank.


The float switches are connected to a peristaltic pump that I bought from Marine Depot. The peristaltic pump is fed by a 5 gallon container of limewater underneath my tank. You could use any pump, it doesn't need to by anything special. I use a peristaltic pump b/c I don't want to dump too much limewater into the display too quickly.
__________________
Josh
  #5  
Old 01/04/2008, 11:57 PM
REEFY1 REEFY1 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: vinton virginia
Posts: 213
Go with the tunze osmolator Best Money ever spent- So SO EASY!!! and reliable
  #6  
Old 01/06/2008, 06:20 PM
turbois300 turbois300 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roanoke, Va
Posts: 130
Yeah $200 for an ATO is definately not an option. I think I'm gonna go with the autotopoff.com switches. For $39 I think it should solve the problem nicely. Plus since its in the fuge I can rig it with one of the powerheads as a pump. Will 1 switch do the trick or should I get the dual setup?
__________________
What? No. We can't stop here. This is bat country. - Raoul Duke
  #7  
Old 01/06/2008, 06:47 PM
J. Montgomery J. Montgomery is offline
Mouth Pipetting
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 2,147
I would say get the dual just as a fail safe. Better safe than sorry.
__________________
Josh
  #8  
Old 01/07/2008, 01:36 AM
manderx manderx is offline
You Load 16Tons...
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 4,333
Send a message via AIM to manderx
i really like aqualifters for cheap&easy topoff pumps. they are only 12 bucks and give you a nice slow drip so you can dose kalk with it. plus it can use 1/4" poly for the intake and outlet hoses so it's really easy to route and mount. make sure you wire in a relay rather than pushing full 120v current through the float switches (even though they say they are rated for it). we tried that on reefdad's tank and bad things happened after a few months.

a nice step up if you can get lucky is a cheap lab-grade peristaltic off ebay. i've gotten a couple masterflexes for 35 bucks each.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009