Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11/26/2007, 11:12 PM
Registered Member

Well Water??

i am setting up my tank and im new to saltwater. we have well water at my house will it be safe to put that in there.
if not what should i do??
thanks
Old 11/26/2007, 11:18 PM
Premium Member

test the water.

I thought my well water would work, but it was very high in phosphates and caused a large algae bloom.

get a RO/DI unit!

Yeah. Wait, what?
Old 11/26/2007, 11:24 PM
Registered Member

I'd avoid any water from the tap like the plague. If you don't want to spend the money for an RO/DI unit yet, I have found pretty good results with distilled water from the grocery store.

If you are planning on keeping any corals or other inverts, you might want to get a copper test kit and check the store water first - some distilled water makers might use copper plumbing.
Old 11/26/2007, 11:25 PM
Registered Member

did it give you alot of problems?? is it that bad. i dont think ill be able to get the RO
Old 11/26/2007, 11:35 PM
Registered Member

Local fish stores sometimes sell RO/DI, mine does, but it's more conveinent for me to buy distilled water at wal-mart. Also, my LFS water quality went down for a while, I guess they weren't testing as often. I'm planning on buying an RO/DI unit from the filter guys (RCsponsor), they are priced reasonably and offer filters specifically for well water. Definitely use some form of purified water. HTH
Old 11/26/2007, 11:51 PM
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally posted by reeferman00