Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Invert and Plant Forums > Tridacnid Clams and other Mollusks

Old 01/04/2008, 03:47 AM
Registered Member

180g with T12 VHO's best clam choice?

Hello, I have no experience with clams or with t12's, but I'm trying to help out a nice teacher who has a tank set up at his school.

He would like a clam, but we're not sure what the best option would be.

He has:
2 x 160w 10,000k bulbs
2 x 160w actinic bulbs

They are all 72" T12 vho

There is plenty of room up on the rocks about half way up the tank, and plenty of room in the sand at the bottom as well, so placement suggestions would be helpful as well.

The lights are about 6" above the water

Thanks in advance!
Old 01/04/2008, 09:58 AM
Keeper of the clams!!!

squamosa giga's or derasa would probably be ok

That should fix it everything right???
Old 01/04/2008, 11:18 AM
Registered Member

Awesome, thank you very much! Someone was trying to sell him a crocea and a maxima, and I didn't think that was a good idea. But, since I have no experience with large tanks, clams or t12's I figured I should ask.

And judging from your sig... I'm guessing you know what you're talking about

Thanks for your help!

For a derasa, what would be a good placement in the tank? With their lower light requirements, would it be ok down on the sand bed? This would be ideal, as the tank is in an elementary school, so the lower the clam is, the more the kids will be able to see it.
Old 01/04/2008, 12:44 PM
Registered Member

Make sure they have excellent reflectors. I would never put in maximas or croceas.
Old 01/04/2008, 07:11 PM
Keeper of the clams!!!