Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Invert and Plant Forums > Marine Plants & Macroalgae

Old 12/20/2007, 11:27 PM
Registered Member

need help with some plants

I've lived in FL for 11yrs now, and I have lots of experience with fish and inverts but now I want to set up a plant tank. I've been reading the threds, but no one seems to keep the plants I'm trying, would like to know if it is because they aren't available or at this time not able to be maintained, or some other reason, anyone out there please chime in.

The tank I'm planning on using is a 54 gal pie shaped with reef style set up and metal halide with VHO atinic. Water will be ocean, so parameters will be whatever sea water is. The tank has a 5 inch base of fine sand with live sand mix about 50/50 and some rubble and ground up shell, store bought, but very similar in appearence to where I find the algea. I have a FOWLR that has some motile inverts and never been treated with any form of medication or copper. It is about 5 years in the same location so I plan on using the sand from it so I have some sediment, many of the other threds talk about having well aged sand bed. What do some of you think, or recomend? Fish would be few and only a scource of nutrients for the plants.

Now for the plants

I have seen in the keyes several macro algea and the one I am interested in is the pine cone algea, Rhipocepholus phoenix. I have collected it in the past, but only half heartedly tried to raise them, ie flourescent lights and not much care put into it. Any suggestions for keeping this sp? This will be the center piece/main specie in the tank.