Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs

Old 12/31/2007, 05:21 PM
Registered Member

Bioballs in a nano

I am setting up a 14G Biocube and am not sure whether to leave the bioballs in it or not. I've seen pics of someone filling one of the sections with live rock rubble and am tempted to do that instead. Any advice would be great. I've always taken the bioballs out on my larger reef tanks but this is my first attempt at a nano tank.

Thanks.
Old 12/31/2007, 05:43 PM
Registered Member

Take them out-Nitrate factories!
Old 12/31/2007, 05:52 PM
Registered Member

Bioballs are great for freshwater, Freshwater fish are not affected too much by Nitrate. But for saltwater they produce too much Nitrate and saltwater fishes are more sensitive too Nitrate.
Old 12/31/2007, 06:53 PM
Registered Member

oops...i have bioballs in my skimmer... i guess ill take em out now xD

Fish are better than people because people can be untrustworthy and corrupt, Fish are pure :)
Old 01/01/2008, 09:19 AM
Premium Member

Quote:
Originally posted by racksteris
Bioballs are great for freshwater, Freshwater fish are not affected too much by Nitrate. But for saltwater they produce too much Nitrate and saltwater fishes are more sensitive too Nitrate.
This isn't precisely accurate. Freshwater fish are widely varied and are affected by nitrate at different levels. This is identical to saltwater fishes. Some saltwater can take amazingly high levels while others can not take any at all. You only need to point to most FO system to see bioballs and high nitrate systems that flourish.