Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10/28/2007, 09:46 PM
Registered Member

Question Heavy duty cleaning of an acrylic tank, please help!Pics! (lots of questions too)

Hey everyone, I am new to Reef Central but just thought I would post and see if anyone has any useful tips on how to clean this aquarium, or if anyone has any experience with Clarity Plus aquariums. Are they a good brand?
It's a 26 gallon acrylix hex tank.

I got it for free from my friend, it was sitting in his dad's basement for several years.

It looks like he just let the water evaporate and now it's left with lots of scale in it and minerals...gross.

I know this tank is pretty nice, I found it online for $209 new. I'd like to get it cleaned up and use it.

Does anyone know how to get rid of all these minerals and deposits in there?
Is vinegar and water too harsh? And what can I use that won't scratch the acrylic?

I'd like to just clean this baby out this week and then gradually plan to fill it and stock it over the next few months.

Freshwater, obviously. I'd like to use some Tahitian Moon sand as well but don't know if that meshes well with acrylic.

It also had a regular 20 watt flourescent bulb that has since burned out. Should I just get another regular bulb from the hardware store or is there a better looking fish bulb that I should use?

Any info about this tank would be appreciated! Thank you!

Here's the tank:
http://www.bestpetsupply.com/graphic...yplus/2236.asp

Sorry for the phone pics...

Last edited by john_matrix; 10/28/2007 at 10:05 PM.