Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Responsible Reefkeeping

Old 06/14/2007, 05:48 AM
Registered Member

opinion on adopting non-captive-bred species

I just wanted to get some feedback here on an ethical issue I've been pondering about "responsible reefkeeping."

I'm new to reef aquariums and did months of research before starting my first tank in January. My original plan was to try to create a tank that had no wild collected specimens- fragged corals, tank-raised fish, and the live rock was going to be aquacultured and cement rock.

It started out well, but then I saw an ad from a guy near my house who was "getting out of the hobby". He was breaking down his tank and selling off everything, so I ended up taking a watchman goby, some live rock (unknown origin) and a cleaner shrimp. So there went the original plan, though I'm always flexible when it comes to planning.

I know that the idea of "responsible reefkeeping" means more than any strict adherence to rules or regulations, but I'd like to hear the opinion of others who try to buy only tank-raised fish, corals, etc. on buying wild-caught species from private parties who are breaking down tanks to move, downsize, etc.

I think of it as a form of adoption. The specimens have already been removed from the sea, so someone has to continue caring for them for the remainder of their lives, and by buying from a hobbyist I don't feel like I'm directly supporting the retail/wholesale business of wild collection. Or am I still?

Just food for thought. Thanks.
Old 06/19/2007, 05:09 PM
Registered Member