Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > NorthEast Region-Reef Club Forums > Upstate Reef Society
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01/04/2008, 11:08 AM
Registered Member

ich?

I bought a yellow clown goby from MO yesterday and it looked healthy except for a couple small tattered places on it's fins. I put it in QT (5.5 gal tank, heater, sponge filter, couple pieces of lr rubble) and today it's got a few white bupms on it's body and fins, could this be ich? I've never dealt with marine ich before and this is only the 2nd marine fish I've had except for the seahorses, so I'm still new to the procedures. I'm working on getting pics.
Old 01/04/2008, 11:20 AM
Registered Member

sounds like ich... multiple treatments out there, hyposalinty, copper, medication.

all are options for you since you have a QT tank.

I personally use this with success:

http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS...nidazole5grams
Old 01/04/2008, 11:23 AM
Premium Member

If you have only had the fish a day or two, I would call MO and get their input before treating.
Old 01/04/2008, 11:41 AM
Registered Member

I have found in the past that hyposalinity works the best with the least chance of harming the fish.
Old 01/04/2008, 11:44 AM
Registered Member

It could be "ich"( crytocaryon irritans) or it could be flukes which seem to be showing up a lot lately.Or it could be both or niether. Confused yet. It's almost always difficult to figure out what's wrong with a fish and then you need to choose the right treatment and worry about the other fish catching whatever it is.