Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/24/2005, 10:12 PM
Registered Member

Who told us to change MH bulbs once a year?

I recently changed the 3 250 watt metal halide bulbs in my Aquaspacelight after one year in service. I had noticed a hair algae bloom over the last two months and one acropora suffered RTN — all signs of aging MH bulbs that I had read about.
I am a photographer so I was curious about the change in illumination between one year bulbs and new ones. I measured the intensity of the old MH bulbs using a light meter at the surface of the water. I was only interested in relative intensities so I didn't convert the meter measurements to lumens. I measured f/16.5 @ 1/60 second for ISO 100. After I changed bulbs I measured the intensity to be 16.7 also @ 1/60 second for ISO 100, for a roughly 20% increase in intensity. I had expected the increase to be much greater.
I understand that we need to look at the spectral composition of the lights to compare the effective illumination levels accurately and that I didn't do that. Nonetheless this rough data begs the question: Where did we get the rule that we should change our bulbs every year? Is there some hard data in the form of spectral diagrams that show how bulbs age? Have there been controlled experiments that demonstrate the deleterious effects of aging bulbs?
People who spend $400 a year on bulbs want to know!
Mark Spencer
Old 05/25/2005, 12:26 AM
Premium Member

You also need to consider the 100hr burn in time of the new bulb.
Old 05/25/2005, 01:01 AM
*MySpiderSenseIsTingling*