Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Coral Forums > SPS Keepers
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/21/2007, 05:35 PM
Never Satisfied

Possible Pathogen Based Acro Necrosis

Anybody ever faught a pathogen of sorts that only affects acropora and won?

I've been battling this for a few months now. It started in my frag tank (which was isolated when i found out about the problem) and now i am started to lose colonies in the display.

I have exhausted every possible physical and chemical parameter I can think of and cant find the source of the problem. Being that it only affects acropora and not montis, pocci, seria, or any LPS in the system...i am led to believe it is an acro specific pathogen. All fish, snails, crabs, urchins, stars, etc are doing just fine.

I have tested dkh time after time even after ordering a new kit and it is always within range (9-10)

Ca is always around 400-420... mag at 1200-1300

pH ranges 8.0-8.1... temp ranges 79-81.. salinity is dead on at 35ppt/53mS

i do not dose anything else... just k and c-reactors

i started running o3 at low dose (20mv) and have started UV for anything in the water column

i've ran carbon, chemi-pure, poly-floss... all with no change.

free po4 levels are 0 per hanna photometer

the necrosis starts from the bottom up but doesnt follow a recession line... in other words whole patches fade then necrose

no problems at the tip, which by "rule" excludes bulb burn or foreign toxin/chemical burn

i've done water changes at 25% biweekly and now weekly
i've used different batches of salt, changed out all RO/DI filters