Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Coral Forums > Zoanthids
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07/12/2005, 08:09 PM
Zoa Color Pirate

Angry Yellow sponge taking over Zoa!

Well I've been fighting this strange yellow sponge for a few months now and I'm at a loss I hope someone knows what to do to help me out.

The sponge started growing beside my red zoa's and then spread over the top of the mat...the zoas still break thru the sponge to open but they cant spread because of it, I've tried picking the sponge off the zoa's but a tiny bit remains in this hole I cant get to and 2 weeks later ...its covered the mat again! I've tried giving the zoa's a fresh water bath thinking...sponges are sensitive...did nothing to the sponge...tried leaving the frag out of water for 5 min .... did nothing to the sponge! I've had a few pieces of the sponge float away when I try ripping it off the rock and a few weeks later I have sponge growing on my sand...and back of the tank and rock! its like super sponge...

Yes I'm sure its a sponge of some sort...it feels like sponge...its porus (would that be the right word?) and has little syphon things. I just moved so I dont know what box my camra is in or id take a pick.
Old 07/12/2005, 09:04 PM
Premium Member

It's hard to imagine that this is a sponge even though it feels like on since you did the things that would have killed it....taking it out of water for 5 minutes should have killed it for sure if it's a sponge. This stuff seems to be playing hard ball so you might have to frag the zoanthids to give them a fighting chance of survival.
Old 07/12/2005, 11:58 PM
Registered Member