Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Marine Fish Forums > Anemones & Clownfish
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11/30/2003, 07:20 PM
Rare Clownfish Freak

Designer clownfish thru selective breeding

A recent post about a hybrid clownfish prompted me to write this up. http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...hreadid=276934

I thought I would share some insight, and get some feedback, as I am not a genetic expert by any means.

Here is why I do not think we are going to see any designer clownfish hybrids anytime in the near future… This applies for breeding for a specific marking trait and not a full blown cross bred like an orange skunk X with a blue stripe to produce a white cap clown, which is another subject all together.

Someone posted about a hybrid between A. Percula and A. Ocellaris, resulting in an unusually marked/barred clownfish. BTW this hybrid has been documented in the wild, with similar results.

It would take a long, long time to get that. It is not as easy as it is with say dogs, that will mate with anything when the female is in heat. It just doesn't work that way with clownfish.

For example...

Pair #1 (F0) is formed with adults, the soonest one would reasonably expect a spawn is 12 months.

Pair #2 (F0) is formed at the same time.