Reef Central Online Community Archives

Reef Central Online Community Archives (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Fish Breeding Forum (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Ideas for Research (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1110891)

chbarber 04/30/2007 06:15 PM

Ideas for Research

I am an undergrad at NC State University studying zoology with an ichthyology concentration. I am planning on breeding clowns and possibly cardinals in the next semester. I am going to propose a project for undergraduate research but I am having trouble determining something that I could research. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas of some kind of thesis that I could propose for my undergrad research. [B]Dr. Marini, I would really appreciate your input on this subject!![/B] Anything that I find would be published on the website that we are provided by the school and I would keep everyone here on RC updated. Someone please help!!!

heap 04/30/2007 07:19 PM

clown larva growth/survival rates with differing planktonic first food supply has always interested me, but i don't have much access to anything besides rotifers. may not make much of a research topic, tho...not exactly my turf.

looking forward to the updates, no matter what you pursue, tho.

aomont 04/30/2007 10:25 PM

What kind of facility/area you will have to develop your project ? How many tanks, how large, ... ? How long would it take ? There are some interesting options regarding rearing marine fishes depending on what you have available.
Anderson.

clownfish75 05/01/2007 04:18 AM

I started a honours year looking at clownfish, spawning them proved to be the biggest hurdle.

send me a pm, and ill explain more.

Christian

FMarini 05/01/2007 03:21 PM

CH-
thanks for the request.