Reef Central Online Community Archives

Reef Central Online Community Archives (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Do It Yourself (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   coralife calcium reactor leaks (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1286673)

Just Jim 01/05/2008 04:06 PM

coralife calcium reactor leaks

I've been using this piece of junk for about 6 months now. Out of the box it leaked. I sealed around the pump with silicone and it worked just as it should've until yesterday, when it started to leak through the silicone. I cut out the old silicone and resealed it. I just can't justify spending the $400 for the geo calcium reactor that I want. Has anyone had luck "fixing up" the coralife reactor permantly?

zaireguy 01/05/2008 05:24 PM

mine just went and starting leaking on me last night.I feel the pain man

Just Jim 01/05/2008 05:26 PM

[QUOTE][i]<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11528628#post11528628 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by zaireguy [/i]
[B]mine just went and starting leaking on me last night.I feel the pain man [/B][/QUOTE]

How long did you have yours? If I had it to do over again, I'd have bought the geo 624. But now I've got $150 invested in this junk. Right now I've got a layer of silicone drying. Then I'll put another layer on top of this one, hopefully it sticks. Hasn't anyone else had this problem?

zaireguy 01/05/2008 05:35 PM

mine has been nothing but problems I want the geo 624 also.I have had mine about a yr

Just Jim 01/05/2008 06:33 PM

[QUOTE][i]<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11528706#post11528706 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by zaireguy [/i]
[B]mine has been nothing but problems I want the geo 624 also.I have had mine about a yr [/B][/QUOTE]

Instead of buying the geo 624, how about I give you a good deal on a "lightly used" coralife reactor? :D You can always use it for spare parts.:lol:

Percula9 01/06/2008 12:32 AM