Reef Central Online Community Archives

Reef Central Online Community Archives (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Reef Discussion (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Protecting your carpet (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1283158)

Dave1NC 12/31/2007 10:02 PM

Protecting your carpet

Okay all your reefers out there here's one for you. I am moving later this month to a rented townhouse. The 90 gallon tank is going from hardwood to carpet.

The question is what is the best thing to put under the tank? I was thinking a throw rug or possibly a foam pad from Lowes/Home Depot. Wife was also complaining about the water possibly spilling on the rug...

Does anyone else have any other ideas?

poppin_fresh 12/31/2007 10:25 PM

I have been dribbling SW on my berber carpet for a couple years with no ill effects. Unlike metal, polyester, doesn't oxidize. It will allow for the growth of mold though, so constant soaking is not recommended.

Misled 12/31/2007 10:31 PM

I would worry less about the carpet than the wood. That being said you could place a piece of 3/4 in plywood covered in a marine grade polyurathane under the stand. Just make it a little larger than your stand. Mine's been on carpet for years with no trouble.

Pmolan 12/31/2007 10:33 PM

They sell black mats at Sports Autority. Its meant to put your weight bench on to work out. Its very thick and doesnt look all that bad.

reef2 12/31/2007 10:34 PM

i just pretend i dont see the water get on my carpet:D

jlyles 12/31/2007 11:08 PM

I lay an old blanket on the carpet when to catch any small spills when I do water changes or make any changes in the tank. I also use a large shallow rubbermaid container that I put in front of the tank to catch large spills. It has saved me more than once and makes my wife feel better.

jjmg 12/31/2007 11:14 PM