Reef Central Online Community Archives

Reef Central Online Community Archives (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Responsible Reefkeeping (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=225)
-   -   Protecting Hawaii's Reefs (https://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=752054)

andynyc 01/15/2006 11:22 PM

Protecting Hawaii's Reefs

[url]http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/10791180/[/url]

Source: [url]www.msnbc.com[/url]

thehedge 01/17/2006 05:33 PM

One part of article is wrong, Governor Lingle banned all LONG-LINE fishing in waters up to 3 miles off shore...not ALL fishing. They proposed a bill to ban Deep-Sea fishing also, just several days ago.

As a Hawai resident, I do not agree with many of the laws regulating the saltwater fish industry here. Many of them are done frivilously because they think that SOMETHING must be done about the depleting fish populations in Hawaiian waters.

Now the problem is that they are not reading the true numbers. Now a report says that since 1990, the fish populations of the coast of Kona have dropped by over 40%. Now I admit that is a cause for alarm. However, what they do not mention, is that in between 1990-1995, the fish population in the same area dropped over 80%, and have been on a steady incline since. The reason for the sudden drop was in 1991 Hurricane Iniki hit, effective destroying our reefs. Reefs=fish habitats, and the fish populations declined because of that. Ever since that Hurricane, damaged reefs have shown significant signs of improvement and fish populations have been booming. Every year that passes, you can see a significant increase in populations of certain fish.