PDA

View Full Version : July Issue was Right on!

ReeferMac
07/09/2002, 04:13 PM
I gotta say Eric, I just got done reading the July Article you wrote about food and have to say I think you are Dead-on!

I've only been at this for about 5 years now, but spent a lot of time early on reading stuff on the internet (much of it yours ;-). As you know, those discussion tend to be towards emerging technique's, and consequently, those are the things I experimented with and learned about. It's only now these past few years I've gone back and have started reading some of the "bible's" of the hobby.

I've been making my own food for 2 years now, based on recipie's from all over the internet. A large portion of the ingredients comes off the Brine Shrimp Direct List, and is damn near every "micro" thing they make. I also dose live Phytoplankton daily.

And for the entire time, I've always had the crappiest of skimmers, horribly undersized, undercleaned, and generally only good for aeration!

In our club up here I'm known to have the 'thickest water' around.

I'm also the only guy with 'bugs' scampering all over his tank in broad daylight! As my tank(s) have matured (have moved twice in those 5 years), I've noticed the system stabilize and have thought I was seeing "plankton", but couldn't imagine having it in a closed system. It's so bad, people who have only seen pic's think my glass is horribly scratched up! There's streaks in damn near every close-up picture I have, and it ain't from the glass ;-)
I get polyp's out on everything that goes in my tank. I've almost become the 'litmus test' for a few of the guy's on coral's they're struggling with.

Thanks for reminding me why I never listened to any of those people, and kept on doing my own thing. Great Article.

- Kevin McDonald

EricHugo
07/10/2002, 06:26 PM
Kevin, thanks!! I love to see tanks like this! Keep it up, Mr. Litmus.

cvye
07/12/2002, 04:16 PM