PDA

View Full Version : Making refugium baffles

Gluestick
11/02/2006, 10:24 PM
Does anyone cut acrylic? I was going to purchase one of these kits: http://cgi.ebay.com/PRO-Refugium-kit-for-glass-aquarium-live-coral-rock_W0QQitemZ7768970345QQihZ018QQcategoryZ3212QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
But $40 seems kind of rediculous. I'm not very handy. I'm sure my hubby would make it for me, but do you need a certain drill? Also, where do you get the sheets of acrylic?
Does anyone do this as a side job for cheaper than the guys on ebay?
Thanks
Valerie

medic29
11/02/2006, 10:47 PM
Valerie, I just started playing with this stuff here making my sump, etc. for my new tank. It isn't that bad to work with. I did purchase the solvents needed to glue the acrylic together. I just made some overflow boxes for my new tank as well.

Let me know what you want to do. You can pick up the acrylic from HD, Lowes, Menards, etc. or you can pick it up from a local plastic company.

pleaselaunchme
11/03/2006, 01:45 AM
When I built my sump, I went to Lowes and had them cut some glass for me. You buy it by the sheet, cuts are free (I believe HD has the same deal). It cost me like $8.50 for the 4 baffle sheets I had cut, and I came back with quite a few scraps. Glass to glass bonding with silicone is much stronger than acrylic to glass, anyway. For silicone, HD, Lowes, and Walmart all sell GE Silicon (I believe it is type II I used, I can check if you'd like. Just make sure to not use the type with mold inhibitors). Of course, if you are using an acrylic tank to build your sump, I'd go with acrylic baffles myself.

Ben

Michelle L
11/03/2006, 06:09 AM
Valerie, I bought my sump through Glass Cages (http://www.glasscages.com/?sAction=CustomPageSumpTanks) .