PDA

View Full Version : Setting up my first reef aquarium`

Tomoko Schum
06/29/2002, 10:16 AM
Hi y'all,

I am new to salt water aquarium/reef keeping. I am a seasoned freshwater aquarist so I have general knowledge about aquarium keeping.

I have been reading a lot of articles and a couple of books to learn about reefkeeping so I know enough before I take the first plunge into this new territory. I am trying to take it slow but it is hard to resist my urge to get started.

I have a spot in the kitchen where I can set up either a 10 gallon or 15 gallon aquarium. There is a 10 gallon freshwater tank in that spot at the moment. I have a twin fluorecent light fixture (40W) hanging from an upper cabinet above the 10 gallon tank.

My first question is whether I should go with a 10 or 15 gallon tank. One of LFS's around here has a nice 10 gallon reef aquarium set up with a skilter and two powerheads. I was thinking about doing the same but with a 15 gallon tank. Do you think 15 gallon can be successfully maintained with the same equipment? I intends to add live sand and live rock to the tank. I am hoping to keep easy to keep soft corals and a very light fish load.

My second question is about sand. Does the idea of denytrifying with live sand really work in 15 gallon tank?

TIA,

Tomoko

BlAcK_PeRcUlA
06/29/2002, 11:45 AM
Yes live sand and rock work in small tanks. A 15 would be easier to keep than a 10 because of the a little more stable water conditions. You might need a lighting upgrade though

Kapelakin
06/29/2002, 10:54 PM
For a first tank, I'd go with the larger tank. The main difference will be in lighting. You don't mention whether you're considering a 15 long or 15 high. Tall reef tanks can be difficult to light, so keep that in mind. A deep sand bed isn't needed in that small of a tank; if it does work for denitrification, the effects are probably negligible.