PDA

View Full Version : What would you do? (tank decision)

a novice
06/27/2002, 09:18 AM
Hey everyone,

I've decided on an approximate size for my tank but now I'm overwhelmed with the choices. I would like a tank somewhere between 12 and 15 gallons. Being that I'm a student and portability is a necessity, I would like one of the "self contained systems". From the ones that I've found, two are in the running.
The first one is Clarity Plus' 12 gallon Acrylic IFS Flatback Hex. I've found it for $185 but I would need to upgrade the lighting to a 27W & 9W PC(or other) which costs about $70. This system does not come with a protein skimmer, but, if it would fit, I would get a prizm(approx. $80). This would total about $340. I understand that there are a bunch of other pieces that I would need to buy, but those are necessary with any tank.
The second choice is the 12 gallon Uniquarium that FFE sells. It comes with the lighting mentioned above, and a skimmer. I am unsure of the skimmer quality but it does come with one. This retails for about $390. Anyone have any experience with this skimmer/tank?

From my point of view, the only difference is the skimmer issue. They are both good quality acrylic tanks with matching black acrylic hoods and bases. I would prefer the first system because I would rather have a skimmer that has gotten good reviews over one that is fairly unknown. Only problem with that: what do I do when the prizm doesn't fit? I would hate to cut apart the hood to make it fit. Should I just take the chance and if the prizm doesn't fit find a skimmer that will?

Thanks alot. :P

Lunchbucket
06/27/2002, 09:42 AM
i say just run skimmerless so you don't have to spend the $$ on it and worry about it.

you check out www.nano-reef.com's tanks??

Lunchbucket

a novice
06/27/2002, 10:53 AM