PDA

View Full Version : Hello! 1st saltwater tank ever!!!!!!!!!

NORTHBAY(707)
08/04/2006, 06:48 AM
Just wanted to say Hi. Was wondering if any one local to Me (707) Santa Rosa area was on this forum.Looks like Northcoast Reefers aren't that active on this forum.

I don't have a reef tank,I guess it's going to be a predator tank hopefully if I can find fish that I can put in a tank with a 4 foot Mexican Moray Eel.

Later! Hope to see more active members on this forum.

khrios
08/06/2006, 12:57 PM
I live in santa rosa. not many people from the reef club check this forum. I am pretty new to the hobby, but I tend to check here pretty often, so if you have any questions dont hesitate to ask

NORTHBAY(707)
08/07/2006, 04:01 PM
wheres a good place around here to get live sand? been tring to get some GRAF'S Grunge,but I get no ansrew there when I'm tring to order it.

khrios
08/08/2006, 01:30 AM
I'm not sure if Caesars or Northbay carry "LS" but you can get the prepackaged stuff with all of the bacteria, but not much other diversity at both of those places. I know northbay carries the AragAlive and the Ocean's Best stuff. It comes in a sealed bag with water in it. I would highly suggest buying it online if you're going to buy a lot, or if you want LS "activator" try ipsf.com I got my LS activator from them and it comes with some pretty good stuff, and the price is pretty good. OTherwise, LS can be bought online (I have seen it go for .99/LB) IMHO, for only one fish a small amount of activator or LS would seed your sand bed and should be adequate.

cwegescheide
08/08/2006, 01:37 AM
Fill that puppy up with SPS and get it over with!!! Resistance is futile!!! :) OH btw... Be carefull with that Arag-Alive stuff. It turned to STONE in my tank. Seriously. If you do get it I'd make sure you had plenty of critters in there to stir the sand. Nassarius snails would help a lot I'd think.

Have fun

NORTHBAY(707)
08/08/2006, 06:29 AM