PDA

View Full Version : Disapointed with Yellow leather

DesertBandits
06/06/2006, 09:56 PM
2 days ago I got a Yellow leather coral. Right now, that same leather is in the garbage can. After having it in my tank for a full day I woke up to find 1/3 of it black/gray and rotten. I cut out the rot, but by the end of the day the rest of the coral rotted out too, and I had no choice but to remove it from my tank. My question is: what the hell happened? My tank isn't some toxic waste pit, All my other corals are fluorishing, what caused my coral to die like this, and so quickly? I didn't know this could happen, and I'm just looking for an explanation to make sense of it all. Thanks in advance.

dqualls
06/06/2006, 10:18 PM
I'm no expert but I have had the same experience 3 or 4 times. I have decided that yellow Fiji leathers are difficult. My LFS told me that they bruise easily and that they shouldn't be touched by yours hands. Both situations cause the infection that you saw. Sometimes cutting this away helps, but in my experience it has failed every time. I know others with the same experience and then there are those I see here on RC that are beautiful. Go figure !!

skylsdale
06/10/2006, 11:18 AM
Interesting. I added a frag from an S. elegans a few days ago, and after reading some threads and reports on them, didn't have my hopes up at all. I also added the frag of another 'toadstool' leather, assuming it would probably fair the best.

The yellow leather is doing fantastic (it had a tiny black spot on one edge, but that has since disappeared)...but the toadstool rarely has it's polyps out and doesn't seem to be that happy. It's the opposite of what I expected.

Seems to be a matter of hit or miss with these guys?

tinyreef
06/10/2006, 12:22 PM
it could be the flow and overall acclimation. they're just as key as lighting.