PDA

View Full Version : Introducing Me!

Aquarist Guru
04/23/2006, 01:09 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to NVR but a LFS gave me a card today and it's exactly what I've been looking for.

My name is Jarrod. 31 year old Father of two been married almost a decade now (god I'm getting old).

I bought an 80 gallon tank about 3 months ago with 2 mechanical 50 gallon filters, and a 100 gallon ventury protien skimmer. Along with a power head.

Now the story of my limited experience:

I cycled the tank with 9 damsels, and 60 lbs of LS and 35 lbs of CC substrate along with about 80 to 100 lbs of regular limestone.

After about 4 weeks my ammonia hit 0 finally however my nitrite and nitrate were through the roof.

Soon I found I had not allowed enough air in my skimmer to work properly, and I was advised to remove the CC which I did after a day of being armpit deep in my tank and using my pasta strainer.

I also added Cycle and with in a day or two my nitrite and nitrate went to 0 amazingly.

I waited another 3 weeks practicing my water tests and reading all I could on various fish I might want to purchase.

I decided to buy a percula clown at the constant request of my 3 year old daughter (she wanted a nemo).

All went well for a few more weeks so I decided to visit some LFS but they were almost all horrid (fish dead in tanks, shop keepers who had no clue if a fish was even salt water or fresh without reading the tank info).

I finally drove 90 minutes away to South San Jose found a pretty good LFS and they quickly had me buying a Emperor Angel in no time.

Saying they would be no issues with the fish what so ever and that later I could buy another 2 angels (fire and coral beauty was the plan).

A week went buy the fish were doing great, I couldn't help but visit the store a few more times too see all the new specimens that came in but didn't have a fire angel available so I waited another week.