PDA

View Full Version : skimmer problems

natman2
03/01/2006, 06:54 AM
Well my skimmer has gone out on strike.

After this weekends maintenance to the tank it simply has stopped producing. Its always been a bit finicky but was a decent producer until this latest episode usually giving me an inch or two of sludge a day. Its in sump and after water changes always had to be reset to find the Sweet spot but this was always just a matter of a few minutes adjustment.

I am not a complete newbie when it comes to skimmers so all the usual suspects have been eliminated. Venturi and air line is clear, pump is functioning normal and with this go around I have even tried shimming the skimmer up to different water levels in the sump but still nothing.

Skimmer is a no name/DIY that I bought at fish bowl and is also available at PK in Braden ton. Something needs to be done soon as its apparent nutrient build up is occurring in the four days it has failed to produce with patches of cyano beginning to form.

If no one has any ideas on what may be the problem maybe someone can direct me to where I can purchase a good replacement. The only brands I can find locally other than Prizm and seaclone, which are out of the question for obvious reasons, is the Coralife super skimmers. Any opinions on these are welcome.

I would also consider any used skimmers anyone is wanting to sell.

robthorn
03/01/2006, 07:43 AM
ocean environments has h&s . you can also order anything you want and do a couple water changes til it gets there.