PDA

View Full Version : how is the hobby in OKI?

ltmguy
02/21/2006, 02:37 AM
I have read most of your New posts and to say the least it sounds as if you have a great club statred there in OKI. I have a few years of experience with my most recent tank being a 55g reef.
I'm presently in 29palms, moved from DC so had to sell the whole kit-n-kabootal. Broke my heart to say the least. Presently my wife and I are planning our future and are looking at OKI for our next tour(pcs in May 2008). We have some time to think and a question or more arises. First of all, how's the fishing around there? Secondly, Shold we purchase dry goods here in the states before we PCS or just wait and pick up some items from those who may be PCSing from OKI? Bar in mind we have limited weight allowance for HHGs.
Looks actually as if live-stock and live rock are pretty easily acquired for reasonable prices there. Especially from what prices we are used to in DC. On the coral farms site I couold only pull up a japanese site and couldn't translate it. Do you guys know how to get a translated page up on my computer so I can look at prices?
Finally, when are you guys PCSing and who plans to keep up the site after you do?
I look forward to your replies.
Mike

vest0830
02/21/2006, 07:02 AM
Generally, from what I read, livestock is cheaper over here. Dry goods, I order all of mine from the states personally. I would recommend purchasing the goods prior to getting here, or just wait and order stuff. I got my shippment from premium aquatics in 5 days. thats comming from indiana to okinawa, japan. pretty dam sweet in my opinion.

you can take over my tank when you get here. im suspossed to leave in june of '08 as of now. im gonna try to extend though. I hope to pass it onto someone maybe.

vest0830
02/21/2006, 07:06 AM
something I forgot to add. google ppmokinawa.com and it will bring up the website, but google will translate it for you. I use that on a daily basis.

Dastank
02/21/2006, 09:21 PM