PDA

View Full Version : Alternative food source for seahorses?

schmunkel98
04/07/2002, 02:52 PM
Hey everyone,

I am looking into getting some seahorses for a new tank I'm planning. However, I want to make sure I have a good food source in mind first. I already have some small critters in my main tank that I think my do the job. According to Dr. Ron's site, they are called Ostracodes( http://www.rshimek.com/images/ROstracode.jpg ). Anyway, they have multiplied like crazy in my main 135 gallon tank. Would these guys be a good food source for seahorses? If not, would something like amphipods be a good food source? I am not looking forward to dealing with brine shrimp, and was hoping to find an alternative food source.

Thanks,

Mike

www.schmunkel.0catch.com

dwarfatize
04/07/2002, 05:22 PM
Hey Mike,

I have been keeping seahorses for a few months and my friend has had them for almost a year. I would recomend that you get some captive bred seahorses from FFexpress.com or oceanrider.com These seahorses are trained to eat frozen priscine energetics mysis shrimp. Mysis shrimp contains the nutients they need to survive and they only need to be fed mysis once a day. I would also recomend that you puchase a seperate tank(A 30 gallon tall is nice) that will house only seahorses. The seahorses need a tank that is at least 3x their adult height. I would recomend you go to seahorse.org and go into the community disscusion forum and ask if you have any more question. Every person on seahorse.org should be able to help you out. one of the members is even the breeder that supplie ffexpress with their captive bred seahorses. Hope this helps and good luck.

Dane

schmunkel98
04/07/2002, 05:44 PM