PDA

View Full Version : Hello.... with questions...

TaubBaer
02/10/2006, 01:02 PM
I'm fairly new to salt water hobby under 1 year.

Current:
I have the 20 gallon tank sitting on the kitchen counter. It has about 10 pounds of live rock and 20 pounds of live sand, 4 peppermint shrimps, 2 embald crabs, 2 big snails, 3 demsels, 1 tomato clown, and 3 dwarf hermits. Hang over skimmer and filter are on the back of tank along the small powerhead down in the near bottom back of tank. No corals. I'm going to the Twins store to get some more live rocks and corals.

Result:
I think I'm ready to upgrade to bigger size, 90 gallon tank sometime in near future. I checked many sump tanks onlines, looked at several skimmers, etc..... until I got confused and am at loss! :confused:

My goal:
Wanted to get bigger tank with all stuffs hidden below the tank in the stand, so I can push the stand/tank all the way back against the wall, leaving no space between wall and stand. Also, I wanted to get some corals, fishes, and something interesting to show off. :cool: If I success at it, I would like to do some tradings with local members on the corals, reefs, etc...

Question:
1. Can I put the tank at the wall between front door and big window?
2. I have crawlspace under the house, will the floor support the weight?
3. Is the MegaFlow overflow good idea?
4. How many pounds of live rocks? Live sand?
5. Which and what size of sump tank?
6. Which GPH pump?
7. Which skimmer?
8. I might not want to get metal halide lamps but required?
9. Is there a member locally know how to get those things together as an kit?
10. Any ideas? Suggestions?

cyclebrkr
02/10/2006, 02:43 PM