PDA

View Full Version : some advice please

realmswalker
04/03/2002, 11:58 PM
Hi everyone

Im fairly new to the marine scene. heres my set up as follows.

60 gallon tank
30 pounds live rock
60 pounds live sand ( it cam in a bag and probably really hasnt cycled up yet, tank is 1.5 months old)
fluval 403 canister filter
bakpak cpr 2 ( airstone mod to be added tonight)
1 3 inch volitan
1 3 inch yellow tang
1 baseball sized hermit crab.
2 6000k coralife 50/50 bulbs

I am going to upgrade to 100 gallons in maybe 6 to 8 months depending on how fast my fish grow.

My question for now is, is my cpr backpack with the mod going to be enough?

I heard its ok to go with wet dry for FO, anyone like using theirs with a wet dry?

should i throw in a deep sand bed now or wait till i get the 100?

someone mentioned using 60 pounds of live rock, keeping the skimmer, and using an empty fluval for circulation, has anyone done anything similar to this?

I may add one morefish, anyone have any ideas for a nice looking fish?

Thanks for any replies

Adam

realmswalker
04/05/2002, 12:41 AM
i added the airstone mod last night, and man talk about some serious foam. i put a control valve on my air pump so i have complete control and have the collection cup raised all the way to the top and it seems so far like im getting some nice dry foam, but nothing nasty coming out yet.

i also seeded my sand with about three pounds of live sand from the LFS, so i hope that kicks my sand up faster.

Anyway, can anyone help on the previous questions? it would be much appreciated. ive posted a couple times in the new to the hobby, but figured my questions were more for the FO people, thanks again

adam

Wolverine
04/05/2002, 05:01 PM