PDA

View Full Version : im wanting to learn more... but dont get straight answers

dummyterminal
03/31/2002, 10:59 PM
I am very new to SW still and sitting at home i dont alway know what it is people are talking about on msg boards. there is such a diverse amount of fish, and they live under so many types of conditions the answers are never direct.
lighting for instance... most people swear up and down its the wattage your lights consume that makes them better.. i know this isnt so but its things like this that really make it difficult to learn the propper ways of SW tank keeping. fish shops are usually no better at giving good advise...
I took samples to 3 fish shops this weekend.. all of them tested out the same +/- 1ppm for the most part... but got totally confilcting answers for my questions.

all my algea stopped growing on the live rocks and my 2 turbo snails and 6 hermits cleaned the tank spotless... i want to get more algea growth on the live rocks (only 20lbs in a 55gal tank). even the algea that was growing on the tank walls and crushed coral has stopped... what can i do to fix this?

these are my readings at home with my test kits.

0 ppm nitrates
0 ppm nitrites
0 ppm amonia
8.1 ph
1.021 salinity

the fish shops got the same readings basically...
these where my answers...

1. the water is TOO clean, you need to slow down your filters a little bit because there is no nitrates.... this could kill all your fish.

2. excellent water. but should dose with some calcium and vitamins/amino acids.

3. everything is ok with water, but for algea need to get pH up to 8.4 and get 50lbs more live rock.

i went with answer from shop #2... it seemed to be the most honest... what do you think?

OscarBeast
03/31/2002, 11:37 PM
Hello!

I am pretty new as well but I will help you out was much as I can.