PDA

View Full Version : starting a nano reef (15 gallon)

geoffgarcia
03/28/2002, 01:15 PM
HELLO NEW JERSEY!!!!

I'm new to reef building, but I've been an active freshwater aquarist for several years.
I have a planted 55gal that is my pride and joy and now I'm ready to explore the salt water reef world:)

I have a 15 gallon long tank that I'll be using coupled with a 2x55PC hood w/ 2 fans and a 24" actinic bulb.

I picked up a 50lb bag of Carib Sand, a hydrometer and a bucket of reef salts. But I keep delaying starting up the tank:) been kinda busy of late!

anyway, I think tomorrow I'm going to stop by Absolutely Fish and grab 3-4lbs of live sand for the tank and get some cocktail shrimp to get a cycle rolling.

So I'm looking for:
*good live rock (or recommendations on what LFS I should go to to get the best!)
*snails (strombus grazers, astrea, margarita, cerith, nassarius, mexican turbo, tiger trochus)
*anything else you can think of!

I'm open for donations! *haha*
or
I have the following to trade with:
10 gallon tank (currently housing a school of 7 baby red belly piranha that will probably move into my 55gal planted shortly, unless anyone wants to trade for them?)

I also have a 29 gallon tall that is currently stuffed to capacity with fish of every nature, 3 tiger barbs, 2 6" common plecos, and about 7 different africans that I never bothered to identify(I adopted this tank from an old roomate that refuses to claim it, so I need to get rid of all of it eventually:)

I can also offer plant clippings of a few varieties, nothing to exotic

I have about 6 24" bulbs sitting around that I used to use on a small planted tank that have plenty of life left in them.

I also anticipate having a lot of sand left over from this bag of carib sea. Its a 50lb bag, and I'd be suprised if I took out more than a few handfuls for my nano reef:) stoopid me for buying it!