PDA

View Full Version : How to stop ich??

snd637
01/04/2006, 07:30 PM
in my own experience w/ freshwater...one reason why some freshwater fishes develop ich is because of cold water...

i dont know if its similar w/ saltwater fishes...especially in a reef tank...setting the temp at 76 degrees might b really cold for the fishes...and could it be the cause of ich?

thanks...any expert advices???

surfnvb7
01/04/2006, 07:51 PM
i wouldn't say that it is the sole reason, or one of the larger reasons IMO.

however, one way you treat ich, is to raise the temp (also in FW), because this speeds up the metabolic process of the fish, and will hopefully cause the fish to fight off the ich.

this method is also used when trying to get fish to spawn and lay eggs.

i think its more of a combination of fish being stressed out, kept in bad water conditions, too many other fish, a fish that came from a LFS store where there were other sick fish in the same tank....

JMO though...i'm no expert on fish diseases, just some thoughts from my experience

njp14333
01/04/2006, 08:07 PM
the only sure way to truly get rid of ich is to quarenteen (i can never spell that) all the corals and fish (seperately), dose the shiznit out of the fish q-tank with copper, and wait a little more than three weeks before returning livestock. this is because ichs lifecycle is about 3 weeks long, and if the ich has nothing to host, it will die off after this period.

h2joe
01/04/2006, 10:06 PM
couldnt you use a UV to kill off the spores that are in the water? if not then do u have to just let it die off in your tank over a three week period or longer. just looking for the fastest way to rid a system of ick.

Cutiewitbooty
01/04/2006, 10:19 PM