PDA

View Full Version : angel's nervous twitch

murphd3
10/11/2000, 09:11 PM
Hello all,

Wondering if anyone can help me identify/treat a problem with a 1 1/2" singapore angel I brought home last night. He looked perfectly healthy @ the store yesterday. I put him in a 30 Q-tank last night. Today, he appears to have a twitch about 1/sec. Otherwise, he acts fine- swimming, eating, and breathing seem to be normal. Any suggestions would be very helpful. I am relatively new to the hobby, and hope I'm not in over my head. I understand these fish can be difficult to keep with the major problem being getting them to feed. At least I don't think that will be a problem.

Thanks, Murphy

Biosystems
10/11/2000, 11:34 PM
HEy murphd3:

What are your tank parameters/how old is your tank and what is the setup? It will help with the diagnosis.

Tim

FMarini
10/12/2000, 11:48 AM
Hi:
I would also like a little more information. Is the animal also scratching?, any other symptoms? does he do this regularly, or just once in a while. Do you notice any visible lesions, parasites, colored spots, etc?
thanks
frank

Biosystems- I see your a molecular biologist/virologist. what virus?(es). I also have the same degree, and same field of specialization, except now I strickly using the viruses for gene delivery into humans

murphd3
10/12/2000, 11:24 PM
The fish shows no other signs of distress and has no unusual spots/coloration that I can see. Ammonia-0, nitrite-0, nitrate-10ppm, alk~1.5, ph~8.3, temp-77F, and a very healthy royal gramma tankmate. The tank is about 2 months old and is equipped with a bio-wheel pro 60 and two lg sponge filters. A 1/2" layer of crushed coral on bottom and multiple pieces of dead coral for security. The angel is accepting frozen brine, formula 2, and live caluerpa. Please let me know what I can do to help this fish as well as things I can provide for him in the future.

Thanks,
Murphy

FMarini- The twitch is pretty regular and occurs about once a second.

murphd3