PDA

View Full Version : National Insterments - LabView?

breedenj
03/13/2002, 08:17 PM
Anybody used this before? I have been using x10 for too long and it is driving me crazy. This is one of the products that came to mind. There are drivers for a lot of hardware. Some people I work with may be getting into this for automated testing solutions. Here are a couple of sites that might be of interest as well:

LabVIEW (http://sine.ni.com/apps/we/nioc.vp?cid=1381&lang=US)

SuperLogics (http://www.superlogics.com)

ADAC (http://adac.com)

I would be interested in helping out with this project. I am a software engineer. I do mostly enterprise workflow application programming in visual basic 5,6 and .NET but I have also done some c++ and java programming as well. I don't have a lot of free time but if there is something I can do let me know. I hope that I can weigh in on LabVIEW in a month or so. I am planning on spending some time working with it and I will let you know how that goes.

dbernard
03/14/2002, 09:49 AM
Labview = $$$, for example to run a Labview application you need to have labview installed or have their executable engine which costs ~ $500. Then you require interface cards, more $$$. While labview is great for ATE and design verification it is overkill for a DIY or home use.

Just my 0.02,

Dave

bstreib
03/14/2002, 12:04 PM
Breedenj,
Check out the DT-194 on the dataq web site. The URL is www.dataq.com/. The datalogger, software and drivers is only $15.00 for a 4-channel. The datalogger is software scalable and requires a 0-10 VDC or less input from the sensor circuit. Hope this helps.

DJ88©
03/14/2002, 05:57 PM
Bill,

I was looking into using the dataQ card you mentioned but it is only 8bit. Over a 20V scale (+- 10V) that is 78mV per step. Since most sensors I have been reading about seem to put out readings in the single mV scale, this card won't work very well IMO. At least in this application. Unless you want to get into some form of multiplexing.