PDA

View Full Version : newbie here...

dummyterminal
03/12/2002, 02:18 PM
hello eveyone im new to the SW stuff and live in OKC...
ive got a 55gal tank with only about 10lbs of live rock and 2 percula clowns, a few hermits crabs and a few tiny hitch-hikers...
a emperor 400, a penguin 330, and a 300gph power head to move water...
lookin for some inverts to add... whats next?
also whats the best shop in town... Aquarium concepts, reef shop... ect?

Casey

rldavis
03/12/2002, 07:55 PM
Casey,
Welcome to our club forum, I'm glad you found us.:D My husband and I started our reefkeeping addiction with a similar setup, with, I hate to say, some VERY bad advice from a local fish store (who will remain nameless). Since then we've learned a lot on our own, and even more after finding this message board. So I must say you're in the right place to learn. Hopefully since you found this early it will save you a lot of money.
The first thing that would need to be addressed on your system would be MUCH more live rock. And depending on what your goals are for stock, maybe lighting and lots more circulation. You might want to also consider a skimmer and sump in the future too.
Basically, I could go on and on, and really what you do next is up to you, but I want to let you know that we're here to help as much as possible. At this point though I would not recommend adding any inverts to your tank. Give us a little more information on your setup, such as lighting and future goals and we'll try to take it from there.