PDA

View Full Version : Calcium Level

Reefdiver77
08/30/2005, 09:33 PM
I have never tested my calcium and alkalinity before. I purchased the tests today from Craig. My alkalinity was in the normal range. However, when I added Reagent A and then the powder to the 5cc of tank water, the water turned a magenta color instead of the mauve on the card. It took 2.0 ml of Reagent C to get anything near the blue color and even then the blue was a deeper blue than that on the card. I am using the Calcium Pro test by Red Sea. What do I need to do now? I know to hold off on the Calcium Buffer for a while. I might add that I use tap water with a conditioner.All seems well in the tank. I did have one of my new sps frags get white fuzzy like stuff on it. I did as Craig instructed and turned off the pump and got it from the tank and chunked it. It looked like some sort of a fungus. Did not want it to spread. TIA. Vicki

Codeman00
08/30/2005, 09:54 PM
I've never used the Red Sea reagants before..but first off..what were your alkalinity and Calcium levels?? Or do they just tell you good or not good?

Reefdiver77
08/30/2005, 10:14 PM
Alkalinity was low, normal or high and it came in as normal.
I calculated the Calcium at 1000 ppm.
What type test do you use?

Codeman00
08/30/2005, 11:12 PM
Well...I've only used one kind of test....Salifert. From all the reading I've done, everyone said they are one of the most reliable if not the most reliable. I really have no personal comparisons..maybe some others in the club have there opinions on test kits.