PDA

View Full Version : anyone drill holes in tanks?

kau_cinta_ku
08/09/2005, 06:40 AM
does anyone know of a person or place around Sioux Falls area that will drill some holes in a tank for me? i just got a 75 gal. from a fellow reefer and would like to have a closed loop and built in overflow in it drilled (no more external overflow for me) but i have never done it before and am scared i will break the glass. also can anyone give me some ideas on what size holes to put in there and where at? i am only gonna want to put one hole for the closed loop in the tank and then have pvc around the top of the tank for the closed loop but i still am not sure what size holes for the overflow and loop and where to put them. any help would be great. TIA

Travis
08/09/2005, 11:26 PM
Okay, could you be anymore broad.:lol: This one is going to take a while to answer.:D

does anyone know of a person or place around Sioux Falls area that will drill some holes in a tank for me?

Not that I know of for sure as I haven't tried contacting anyone to do it. But I would be money on it that somewhere in Sioux Falls there has to be a glass shop that will drill the holes for you for a fee (probably not cheap and they typically won't guarantee that they won't break the tank).

There is a fairly new guy around that used to be in charge of the aquariums at the Omaha Zoo and some famous hotel in Las Vegas. He now has his own business setting up people's tanks and systems. From what I hear, he will soon be working on installing a 20,000 gallon tank in someone's home. I haven't talked to this guy personally yet but I would be he knows what he is doing when it comes to anything to do with tanks. It wouldn't hurt to shoot him an email or give him a call to see if he could do it and how much he would charge. Here is his email: grant@oceansofthemidwest.com His business is Oceans of the Midwest. Not sure if he has a phone number in the business section but it may be worth checking.