PDA

View Full Version : Newbie chemistry Q's on Ca and KH

ron101
02/10/2002, 01:11 PM
Hi, I have been keeping reefs for about 6 months. Up till recently I have been using a 2 part regimen for maintaining KH and Ca levels but have had difficulty raising pH over 8.0 during the day. I have now switched to using Kalkwasser but I don't have a great understanding of the big picture.

More specifically some questions I have are:

- Are products such as Seachem Reef Advantage or Kent Turbo Calcium a form of calcium chloride?
- Do these products tend to deplete alkalinity and lower pH hence requiring corresponding KH buffer additions?
- Will a CaCl + KH buffer regimen result in increased salinity or ionic imbalances over time due to accumulations of Cl and Na ions?
- When using Kalkwasser are additions of KH buffers also required or is it a 'stand alone supplement'?
- What is the whitish precipitate that collects at the bottom of a kalkwasser container? Is it harmful if any escapes into the tank?

TIA

Randy Holmes-Farley
02/11/2002, 08:08 AM
ron:

Are products such as Seachem Reef Advantage or Kent Turbo Calcium a form of calcium chloride?

Yes to Turbo Calcium. The Seachem product is similar but has strontium and magnesium in it. From the Seachem web site:

Reef Advantage Calciumâ„¢ also includes magnesium and strontium in amounts proportionate to typical utilization ratios (100:5:0.1, Ca:Mg:Sr). This allows one to maintain these two important elements while maintaining calcium.

Do these products tend to deplete alkalinity and lower pH hence requiring corresponding KH buffer additions?

They do nothing to supplement or deplete alkalinity. You'll need to do that some other way.

Will a CaCl + KH buffer regimen result in increased salinity or ionic imbalances over time due to accumulations of Cl and Na ions?

Yes, here are a couple of articles:

http://www.animalnetwork.com/fish2/aqfm/1998/dec/bio/default.asp