PDA

View Full Version : Great Job! Thank you!

SciGuy2
02/05/2002, 03:04 PM
Jon,

Great job on the article! As a lazy DIY'er I really like seeing all the plumbing info together in one place.

Thanks,
-Lee

Scrooge
02/05/2002, 05:06 PM
Just wanted to add my thumbs up, the article is great! It's nice to have some practical topics covered for a change. I printed a hard copy of this one :)

pnosko
02/10/2002, 02:21 AM
My :thumbsup: too! This should be required reading by anyone working in plumbing at Home Depot!

Regarding beveling, what is the main purpose? I've never done this before. I don't think I've even seen the tools. Seems to me, other than make it easier to join, it might aid in reducing turbulence?

I think you should've emphasized the instuction about applying glue to the female end. "Liberal amounts of glue" is advice you hear all the time, but you mention that excess glue shouldn't be left inside the female end (it needed to be bolded). This is probably where I've made bad joints before. I once cut open a joint I glued to see how it looked on the inside, and was amazed by how much you can restrict the flow through the joint by leaving too much glue in there. I now use liberal amounts on the male end and spare amounts (but full coverage) on the female end.

Thanks again for the great article.

Snailman
02/10/2002, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by pnosko
Regarding beveling, what is the main purpose? I've never done this before. I don't think I've even seen the tools. Seems to me, other than make it easier to join, it might aid in reducing turbulence?