PDA

View Full Version : Online Pics of Amphipods?

npaden
10/20/1999, 10:04 AM
Anyone know where I can find a pic of these little buggers. I am 99% sure that is what is crawling all around my sand and rocks at night, but they have be busy multiplying and there are TONS of them now. Just wanted to check to make sure they are what I think they are. Are to many of them bad? I've got some live sand on the way to add diversity, pretty much right now there are tons of them but all the same little bug/snail whatever. Thanks, Nathan

------------------
Visit my homepage at padens.homepage.com (http://padens.homepage.com)

badgers
10/20/1999, 10:31 AM
http://www.mov.vic.gov.au/crust/list.html
may help. I am not good at biology so these may be the wrong things. I think Amphipods are near the bottom of the page.
thank you for your time and have a good day

npaden
10/20/1999, 10:52 AM
Thanks Badgers! :) I found one that looks very similar, but not exact. Here is a picture of it: http://www.mov.vic.gov.au/crust/images/crusties/amphipod.1/j41042.jpg
Should I get something to eat them? Is this why my 6 line wrasse looks fat & happy and doesn't seem to eat much when I feed? Thanks, Nathan

Kirbster
10/20/1999, 12:16 PM
Ditto to Ron's comment.
Calling Amphipods good guys is an understatement. There is really nothing bad to say about them. The adults, the juveniles, and the larvae are all critical components of a reef food web.