PDA

View Full Version : Saving a Sebae anemone...

grog
10/17/1999, 12:31 PM
Howdy everyone! This is my first time posting here (Although, I've been lurking).

I convinced a LFS to GIVE me a pitiful looking Sebae about 6 weeks ago. He was snow white with purple tips and wouldn't attach to anything when I first brought him home.

Well, he has sinced attached to some rock right under the halides and is rapidly starting to get some brownish color back into him.

I've been feeding him regularly (about 3 times a week). At first, he didn't grab the food, but now he's FORCEFULLY taking the food that I offer and he has grown 50% and looks wonderful.

My question,
Is there a point that I should start feeding him less and let him grab the food that's floating around in the aquarium on his own? Or should I keep on with what I've been doing?

Thanks,
Grog

grog
10/17/1999, 02:55 PM
Up...

Kirbster
10/17/1999, 10:37 PM
Grog,

I wouldn't quit feeding him...ever. It sounds like whatever you're doing is rapidly improving his health, so keep it up. Anemones seem to have high food demands (or possibly poor metabolic food utilization?). Many of the anemone success stories involve regular and/or heavy feeding. Vary the diet if you can. Good luck with him.

KA

P.S. The sickly sebaes (snow white with purple tips) sure are beautiful aren't they? Too bad that most that look like that are on their last legs (or is that "their last pedal disk?).

rshimek
10/18/1999, 04:34 AM
Grog,

Kirby is absolutely right. Don't reduce feedings - the zooxanthellae can not produce enough food to keep the animal alive on their own. Keep the food coming, and you'll have a happy critter.

Cheers, Ron

grog
10/18/1999, 07:11 AM
Thanks...

I really hadn't intended to get an anemone that day. But since they were getting ready to flush it, I asked if they would let me give it a chance.

Thanks for your help,
Grog

grog
10/31/1999, 08:41 PM