PDA

View Full Version : Ozone Controller

TNREEF
01/26/2002, 04:49 PM
Randy,
What does an ozonizer do for the water chemistry? If any? I am not new to the hobby but I am new to the gizmos.
Thank you for your time.

*I have just read you post on Ozone and am really confused now:)

Randy Holmes-Farley
01/26/2002, 07:52 PM
TN:

Sorry for the confusion. That post was intended for a person with a strong background in ozone.

Ozone is intended to reduce organics in reef tanks. Many claim that it helps skimmers work better, but I'm not convinced of that. IMO, what it does is alter a bunch of organics that build up in tanks that are relatively unpalatable for the bacteria and other microbes that are present, and make them more palatable. These bugs then eat them and otherwise convert them into things that are skimmable.

Ozone is especially effective at clearing water of yellowing compounds. That's because ozone readily oxidizes carbon carbon double bonds, and other types of unsaturation, which are what often lead to compounds being colored.

I've never used ozone in my reef tank, and don't typically recommend it. It has become substantially less popular in the past 5 years.

garbled
01/26/2002, 11:51 PM
How much ozone would it take to achieve a 100% kill ratio in a skimmer?

I'm not trying to create one of those sterile tanks, but I was thinking along the lines of an article I read where the author used a UV to create sterile water to do rotifer/phyto growth in-line.

Randy Holmes-Farley
01/27/2002, 08:19 AM
garbled:

<< How much ozone would it take to achieve a 100% kill ratio in a skimmer? >>

Are you talking about sterilizing freshwater used in a culture (relatively easy) or continual sterilization of salt water in a closed system?