PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on snorkeling in Fla

Larry Grenier
01/25/2002, 12:52 PM
I'm just a beginner. I've read a little about the Dry Tortugas being good for snorkeling and scuba (Accessible by plane or boat SW of Key West). Any other suggestion, perhaps a little more accessible? I'd prefer the less-crowded places.

scubadude
01/27/2002, 12:56 PM
Key Largo is not hit near as much as middle and lower keys....and key largo also avgs under 25' in depth....so it would be excellent for snorkelling As far as Dry Tortugas goes...Im not sure about the park itself cuz I have been there for the past 3 years but it has always been outside of park boundarys (diving...not snorkeling) but I will say that the tortugas is some of the best diving I have ever seen in Fl. and I have been to alot of places in FL.!! Also Ft. Lauderdale/Dania area is great diving and a few great spots for snorkelling. I highly recommend the book "Diving guide to underwater florida" by Ned DeLoach .....should give you all the info you want...Good Luck

lifestudent
02/04/2002, 07:59 AM
Hi.

I started the thread "Where's are the best places to snorkel in the FL Keys" on this bulletin board.

Based on my recent experience (1/19-1/21/02) and only experience in the keys, here are my choices based on the 3 places we snorkeled. We used charters since I don't have access to a boat and didn't want to hire a private boat (>$100 for a half day):
1. Key West - especially Rock Reef which had not only a large variety of fish, but the corals were the best of the 3 places. Avg reef depth was 4' with channels to 25'
2. Pennekemp - it had the largest variety of fish as well as large schools of blue and purple tangs. Avg depth was 15' with avg reef depth 5-7'
3. Looe Key - it had many fish and was the least populated with other folks. Avg reef depth was 5-7' with channels avg 25'