PDA

View Full Version : Representational Art meets Captive Reefkeeping. Living Aquatic Light Sculpture!

Aquabucket
03/22/2005, 04:21 AM
I thought I would post this here and in the main discussion board.

Sorry for the long read I hope some of you find this interesting even though it may be a bit on the personal side.

Feel free to skip to the bottom regarding my "living aquatic light sculpure" if you don't feel like reading a bit about me and my background

Some of you may know that I chose to put my art career on hold shortly after the Twin Towers Disaster. I lived in NYC at the time.

As an artist I invented numerous works utilizing ultraviolet blacklight & motion to create holographic like imagery.
Here is a link to my website (http://www.millevolte.com)

What's intersting is some of my past works portrayed a transparent illusion of being liquid in form. Some works were more holigraphic in nature. I never thought this could somehow become more prominent in my next concept.

To make a long story short my goal as an artist was to create an art form that could not be photographed, and combined light with motion. It was also important to me to create objects of beauty and works that have never been physically seen before. This lead to a desire to create an ever changing form of art.

Eventually reefkeeping became my new art form. The neon fluoresence of the corals under actinics was something I was obviously attracted to and soon made a modest living at reefkeeping of which I am grateful for.

Offers keep coming in for my art though ~ some with big payoffs.

Well I am turning down my latest offer and decided to create something entirely new ~ finally some thing beyond my past utilization of magnetism, wind/air, electric motors, and other forms to create a neon world of illusion.

Now I will turn to nature as my mechanism

"The World is Yours" by Spike Millevolte Copyright by Millevolte 2005 - all rights reserved
(I will have to start small at first)