PDA

View Full Version : Coral Experts Question Please Advise

mazdaspeedzoom
03/19/2005, 06:02 PM
Are you dosing your tank with anything? I just bought a torch coral and I'm pretty new to the coral thing as this was my 1st coral purschase but the LFS also sold me a Kent Marine solutions, which include idodine, stontium & molybenum, liquid calcium... I'm just curious to see if this is really all that necessary or if I should return it? Also what extra tests do you use besides the big 4, ph, am, nitrite, nitrate? Thanks!

mazdaspeedzoom
03/19/2005, 07:44 PM
this is the torch i just put in...

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/85426torch.jpg

Sloth
03/19/2005, 08:39 PM
1. go sit on the porch for 30 minutes and relax.

2. watch the coral over a period of a few days to see how it's doing. If it's doing well, relax some more. If not, then worry about adding suppliments.

3. I would take the Kent products back. The only one you might need is the calcium one. Never dose anything that you can't test. You could overdose, which would be bad. I think you should get a calcium and an alkalinity test kit, and get the 2 part buffers.

aural
03/20/2005, 08:27 AM
yah... what he said! Don't be so worrysome! definitely dont worry about all those suppliments. Keep a close eye on your calcium ppm and your PH.

Torch corals are stunning and from the look of your picture, yours looks nice!

mazdaspeedzoom
03/20/2005, 09:50 AM
You guys rock! Thanks! I'll probably hang onto the products just incase it was only ten bucks and better to have it than to not I suppose... I am for sure going to get a calcium test I may just have the lfs test for my alk as I don't think that flucutates as much.... I always use R/O water and I've heard that most of the trace elements in the water is all the coral really needs...

What about feeding, what's the best thing to feed it?

skipm
03/20/2005, 10:03 AM