PDA

View Full Version : "Survivors" Article

stevelasik
02/28/2005, 01:52 PM
First, I wanted to thank you for writing such an insightful article. It made for some great lunch-break reading.

I've been keeping marine aquariums to some extent for almost 20 years now, and have experienced exactly what you spoke of regarding the temperature & salinity "recommended" by nearly every book and LFS. All of these years, I had no reason to doubt these recommendations, especially considering their consistency among people I considered to be experts (or at the very least were passing along information from reliable sources).

I knew that both a temperature of 76F and specific gravity of 1.022 were lower than natural reef conditions, but was reassured that a lower temperature would "reduce the growth of undesirable types of algae", and a lower salinity would "reduce stress" in captive marine fish.

After reading your "Survivors" article, I decided to gradually adjust the temperture to 81F, and specific gravity to 1.025 in my nano-reef. After just 3 weeks of new conditions, I've noticed a remarkable change in most of the organisms in my tank. The fish & particularly the crabs are more active, the xenia pulse at a higher rate, and all of my soft & hard corals seem fuller. I have a small tree/leather coral (Paralemnalia sp.) that rarely opened before, and now is open and full about 90% of the time.

The biggest difference I noticed is in the animals resiliency after stress. Previously, when I performed a water change the fish became very nervous & darted around, the cleaner shrimp would hide for hours and refuse to eat for a day, and most of the corals would close or shrink up for as long as three days afterward. Since adjusting my temp & salinity, every animal in the tank is back to normal appearance within an hour of changing the water.