PDA

View Full Version : alkalinity change

aeroworm
12/24/2001, 06:52 PM
I am new to this message thing so I hope that I am doing it correctly. I have recently started up a reef tank after a 20 year lapse. My 90 gallon tank has been set up for about 10 weeks now and has 2 fish, some mushrooms, a "colt" coral, some star polyps, a couple of yellow polyps and a brittlestar. I have Caulerpa racemosa growing rampant and so many protozoa, small crustaceans, and worms growing in there that I rarely feed the fish--they are always fat and healthy looking. The corals are doing well and one of the mushrooms recently budded off. I have been monitoring the alkalinity and pH every day or so to get a feel for what is happening. I noticed that the alkalinity would decrease over a week from 8 to 6 and the pH would rise from 8.2 to 8.4. I figured that this was due to the Caulerpa running out of CO2 and using bicarbonate. I started adding about 8tsp of baking soda to my makeup water and over a week's time that would keep the alkalinity pretty steady. I noticed though, that the Caulerpa was getting pale and stringy and was not growing as well so I did a water change (about 18 gal). The next morning my alkalinity was up to 11 and my pH was 8.2. The Caulerpa turned bright green over the next week and grew like crazy. Over the last 3 weeks the alkalinity has decreased to 7 with no bicarbonate added, and I am trying to use the 2 part additives now but am not very confident in my ability to figure out how much to put in. Right now I am just putting in the minimum. All of the animals continue to look ok.
I would like to know what the water change did to cause this drastic shift. Any Ideas?
Thanks

Randy Holmes-Farley
12/25/2001, 02:21 PM
Welcome to the forum and RC in general as I see this is your first post!