PDA

View Full Version : new to the forum

surfnvb7
01/30/2005, 04:05 PM
Hey everyone,
I am a grad student at VT and am relatively new to the saltwater stuff and have slowly been working on a 20g for about 2 months now.

I am done with the cycling and initial blooms I suppose. Just got lots of snail varieties, a couple hermits, and an emerald crab. I have just been sitting and letting them do their thing mostly while the pod populations go nuts.

I do have 1 question though. I have converted an AC500 into a fuge. When should I put macro algae in, and what kind? Should I put it in same time I put a fish in?

I only ask because I had some cool kinds of macro at one point that came on a nice live rock I got in richmond, but it has all died off since I have no nitrates for them to consume. Here is what the macro's looked like:
http://filebox.vt.edu/users/ayoung/misc/macroalgae.jpg

And here is a pic of my saltwater tank and freshwater tank, cause I know people like to look at pictures as much as me. :beer:

http://filebox.vt.edu/users/ayoung/misc/20gal.jpg

http://filebox.vt.edu/users/ayoung/misc/planted%20tank.jpg

Andrew
01/30/2005, 04:10 PM
:welcome:

Nice tanks. :)

Shivaji
01/30/2005, 06:12 PM
Welcome to the NRV - love that plant tank. Are you using CO2 injection ? What filtration - if any ?

surfnvb7
01/30/2005, 06:37 PM
Yeah, its running CO2 injection pretty heavily. For filtration, I'm still waiting to upgrade to an Eheim canister filter to minimize the water disturbance, water evaporation, and loss of CO2. I'm running a biowheel HOB at the moment, along with a UV filter and a biowheel mini as a return for the UV that I also store some phosphate absorbing media in.

That pic was a couple of weeks ago. The plants started getting too thick so I did a major cutting back and rearranged some things since I got some red plants and riccia/crystalwort to grow better.

I love my planted tank, but its a bit of work!

manderx
01/30/2005, 10:25 PM