PDA

View Full Version : Long term use of Lime

seased
01/09/2005, 06:08 PM
Great article on the use of lime! I have been using lime for the past 4-5 months in my 55 gallon reef. I use a float switch in the sump to control the amount of kalk/makeup water that is dosed into the sump. I would guess that about 1-2 cups of kalk is pumped into the system when the switch is activated. This is for makeup water, so it runs 24/7.

Here is my question - after about 2 months use of lime/kalk, when I clean my pumps and powerheads, a hard, calcium type residue forms on the pump shafts and sometimes on the pump magnets. Also, this forms on the heater.

Is this just something that goes along with the use of lime/kalk, periodic cleaning of pumps, or am I dosing the lime incorrectly - maybe too fast? My alk stays around 3.5 Meg/L and my calcium is in the low 400's. Thanks for your help!

Randy Holmes-Farley
01/12/2005, 06:58 AM
That precipitation is from excessive calcium, alkalinity, or most likely pH.

Do you know how high the pH gets in the vicinity of those devices that are getting coated?

seased
01/12/2005, 08:49 AM
I have a pH meter with the probe located in the tank. The buildup happens on powerheads in the tank as well as the return pump and heater in the sump. Last night, a little before lights out, the pH was 8.42. About a month ago, the pH was reading in the 8.5-8.6 range. I thought the meter might be off, so I recalibrated using the borax method you mentioned.

Also, I measured the Magnesium - using a Salifert test kit, and it read 1300. I use Kent salt and try to do 25% water changes every 2 weeks.

I have tried using kalk/lime several times in the past. One time the buildup on the pump shaft was so bad that it actually stopped the return pump. I just make it a point to completely clean the pumps about every 2 months.