PDA

View Full Version : Live rock

snakedr
11/06/2001, 03:54 PM
I am new to the 'hobby' and am currently looking for a good source for some really nice live rock. We plan to set up a 120 tank with reef corals and a few fish. WE are in middle Tennessee and any help would be appreciated. thanks, Tom

Pomacanthus1
11/06/2001, 05:41 PM
Premium Aquatics and Gulf View seem to be the best and most popular the most popular online places for LR. www.premiumaquatics.com and www.gulf-view.com.
PA's live rock is $3.99 lbs and Gulf View's deco rock is $5.00 lbs. PA is located in Indianapolis, and Gulf View is located in the FL panhandle.

Hope this helps:)

Cnidae
11/06/2001, 06:38 PM
I would stay away from Florida aquacultured rock. I went for it starting out and now I'm stuck with 200 lbs and I hate it.

Rocky
11/06/2001, 07:09 PM
Well it seems like you bought from the wrong supplier of aqua rock. Not all fla aqua rock is the same. Do some research next time.

snakedr
11/06/2001, 08:02 PM
Thanks for all your replies. rocky: who do you recommend for fla rock? thanks!

Rocky
11/06/2001, 09:21 PM
One idea is to try a few samples from different supplers to see which you like the best instead of buying it all at one location . Since your going to need alot to fill that tank. It may cost a little more in shipping but at least you know what your getting.

Cnidae
11/06/2001, 10:01 PM