PDA

View Full Version : Stocking Numbers?

dghall
10/25/2001, 10:18 AM
Ok...I'm fairly new to the hobby so I don't know if I'm alone in my agony or not but...I love fish. I want them all. Every time I go to the LFS I tell myself I'm going just to look, but always winding up coming home with a FISH. So my question is...how many fish can my 55G tank support. I have read during my research that stocking levels are much higher than they used to be due to the use of LR as a biological filter rather than a wet/dry, bio-wheel, etc. So...current inhabitants are:

2 False Percs
1 Regal Tang
1 Pearly Jawfish
1 Foxface
Various Inverts (hermits/snails)
~95# LR

So...am I maxed out? Everyone seems to be happy and swimming around and "working and playing well with others". I still want to get a Flame Angel. I know I have a problem...I need to be in a FLA (Fish Lovers Anonymous) class or something, but I can't help it. Most marine fish are just so beautiful. I see a new and much LARGER tank in my future, but I need some stocking advice for the tank I currently own. Thanks in advance.

mr294
10/25/2001, 11:05 AM
i would say that youre pretty much maxed out. the tang and foxface are going to have to come out of their eventually too. all the more reason to get a bigger tank right ? :D if you found a home for the tang you could put a couple smaller fish in his place. HTH

brandon

ByTor
10/25/2001, 11:39 AM
I agree with Brandon, your currently maxed out..I personally wouldn't push the bioload any further...BTW how old is this system? and what is your current Nitrate level?? The Tang and the foxface will grow pretty fast for you.. IMO I would keep what you have now, and get started on planning a larger system:D Yes this hobby can be very addictive, but we always have to look out for the best interest of the animals we are keeping..IMO That is always the first priority!!
Any other questions DG feel free to ask:) That's what we are here for :D

Mr Nasty
10/25/2001, 12:04 PM